Midwestern Mom's Musings

My view of the world through words & photos

Take A Moment

My dear friend’s dad died this week.  It’s never easy when a parent dies, but his dad was his father, business partner and best friend.  This has been a triple whammy.

The death of my friend’s dad reminds me again about how short life is and how quickly things can change.  I first met this man nearly 18 years ago when his grandson and my son became friends.  I had the privilege of working with him for an amazing not-for-profit over the last several years.  He regularly showed me what faith in action looks like.  His faith in God and humanity was immense.  The smile that lit up his face when he spoke of his wife, family and faith filled the room with joy.  I am grateful for the gift of his friendship.

While he had been sick for quite some time and wasn’t a young man, his death came much too early for those of us who are left behind.  The only positive thing about his long-term illness was that it gave us a chance to say all those things we always mean to say but never get around to saying.

Telling our parents or other family members how much we love them and appreciate them is somehow an awkward thing.  It shouldn’t be.  After all, they are the people we are supposed to be the closest to in our lives.  Shouldn’t they be the easiest people to open up to and share our deepest feelings?

I don’t know about others, but the hardest people to share my feelings with are often some of my family members.  I often justify this issue with statements like “They’re my family, they know I love them.”  But do they really?  Can we assume that because we’re related by blood or marriage that they know how much they mean to us?

Maybe we should take a moment to change that assumption into an action.  Take a moment to tell those who mean the most to you that you love them and what they mean to you.  Don’t ever have regrets about not voicing your feelings to those you love.

3 comments on “Take A Moment

  1. Joyce
    June 11, 2012

    Kathy, you are amazing. Thank you so much for your tribute to Clinton.

  2. Sarah
    June 17, 2012

    I read this post on Father’s Day, what a good message for today!

  3. narnee1127
    June 22, 2012

    Dear Kathy – I am so much enjoying reading your wonderfully-written Midwestern Mom Musings, from this very touching one to the one about reading books, which also brings me close to my father (through memories) because we went to the library every week to get books. Thank you for sharing your philosophies on life, and fine advice. I also like the photos. Is that a lake or river in the upper left corner? Is that in Wisconsin? Best, Margaret
    I shall continue to read you!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 7, 2012 by in Family and tagged , , , , .
