Midwestern Mom's Musings

My view of the world through words & photos

Squares of Paper

A friend of mine explained to a group of us that her son had come home from his preschool with her Mother’s Day gift including an envelope.  Inside the envelope were 32 squares of black construction paper of various sizes.  He was so proud that he had cut them all himself.  She asked us for ideas about what to do next.

Looking at those squares of paper and knowing how much she loved her kids and all the wonderful, quirky things they do, I suggested she take a silver or gold marker and write all the reasons she loves him, or the things he does that makes her happy.  Then she could put them in a bowl or a box and pull one out each day and be very grateful for a wonderful little boy!

I could envision the bowl with all those squares…casually folded…the metallic letters on the squares occasionally peeking through from the folds.

The bowl would live either on her desk at work or on a counter in the kitchen where she would see it every day and could easily access it.  Each morning, after dropping her son off at school, or at the end of a long day of working and mothering, she could dip her hand into the squares and pull one out to read.  And to smile when she recalls whatever he did to inspired her to write this statement.

A few minutes after I make this suggestion, I realized I needed to do the same thing.

I had made a decision earlier in the year to start writing thank you notes to people who impacted me positively.  The woman at the meeting who told me she liked how I shared my ideas.  The friend who let me vent for a loooong time, and just offered her shoulder to lean on…without making any suggestions on how to fix things.  But with all the craziness that’s been happening at our home, and with the kids stepping up and taking on more responsibilities than other kids their age normally do, I’m not sure that I’ve let them know how much I really appreciate them.

I think I need to find my scissors…and some black construction paper.

8 comments on “Squares of Paper

  1. Jean LaFollette
    June 15, 2012

    this is a lovely idea; go Kathy!

  2. Nancy
    June 15, 2012

    I love this idea – and your writing. I think I may have to try it at home. I’ve always written ‘birthday letters’ to my children talking about their year, my feelings about them at that age, etc. to give to them when their older. But I like how you talk about remembering all those things you love daily or when we as moms need a ‘pick me up’.

  3. I have seen this and I have wanted to try to do something for years now with the kids. They each have dry erase boards in their room and I write notes on it while they are sleeping. I love that this does something for me to remember too!!

  4. narnee1127
    June 22, 2012

    Yes this is a lovely, lovely idea…You know, Kathy, your faith, kindness and writing talents shine through your posts.

    • narnee1127
      June 22, 2012

      (Kathy – narnee1127 is Margaret Gillerman. I also posted a comment on the one about your friend’s father and will make one more entry on your second blog essay…)

  5. Jeannie
    July 1, 2012

    What a wonderful blog!! I’m sharing this with my sister Pam too!
    I love this idea and Denise’s dry erase board idea.
    I’ll have to spend more time reading your blog!

    • midwesternmomsmusings
      July 1, 2012

      I’m glad you enjoyed it so much that you’re passing it on. I loved Denise’s idea, too. If you want to receive notices when I post, please select the Follow button.

    • Pamela Breitberg
      July 1, 2012

      Thank you Jeannie for sharing this blog…. many things to stop and think about. I used to have little business cards from some mail order gift company with special messages on them (current inc). I would slip them into my girls’ lunches sometimes if I thought they could use a special comfort message during their day.
      As a teacher in an urban inner city school it’s not unusual for a student in the morning to fall asleep in class. I never wake them because experience has taught me that they need the sleep as much as learning. But I’m thinking now that it might be a positive thing to somehow tuck a positive note (just a few words long) under their arm so they don’t feel bad about falling asleep; they are too often teased by peers and admonished by other teachers..

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 14, 2012 by in Family, Reflections and tagged , , , , .
