Midwestern Mom's Musings

My view of the world through words & photos

The Three Fs

Three weeks ago, I was in the midst of nature along the California coast. 

Last week, I was in the midst of wires and tubes – which were connected to my husband who was in a hospital bed.

When the only thing you can do to help a loved one who is ill is to sit by his bedside, talk when he feels up to it and pray that each test result comes back with the “right” result, frustration and isolation can overwhelm you.

Fortunately, we have been blessed with what I call “The Three Fs.”  The Three Fs are faith, family and friends.  Without these three in my life I couldn’t have made it through the challenges we’ve faced throughout the years.

The most supportive, and yet most confusing, of these is faith.  My faith tells me that there is a plan.  God knows everything about us…where we’ve been, where we are and what we need now, and where we’re going.  He knows all of this, and yet He gives us free will to determine if we are going to go the way He knows is best or if we are going to take a different path.  I don’t know the long-term reason for why we were back in the hospital and why Bill faces continuous medical issues, but I do believe that God is with us during every step of this journey.

My family is the greatest gift God has given me.  The family I was born into and the family I married into are loving, caring and compassionate people.  They are all so very different and we don’t always agree on everything, but that’s what I love about them.  How boring life would be if we all agreed on everything and nothing every stretched our minds or our understanding of the world around us.   We may not be able to see each other everyday, but I know that my family is always with me – loving me and supporting me.

Finally, my friends.  My friends are my second greatest gift.  I consider so many of them my extended family because of their warmth, understanding and compassion.  I know when the need is there, they will do whatever is necessary to support us.  They are as varied as my family members.  They gift me with new ideas, supportive thoughts, walks when I most need them, ears to hear me ramble, and shoulders to lean on (and, sometimes, cry on).

I often think of my family and friends as all the colors on a color wheel.  While there are three primary colors and a handful of basic colors that we all learned about in elementary school, a color wheel shows you all the amazing hues and tones that result from mixing the basics with each other.  What a beautiful world all these colors create for us…

The blues of the ocean and sky…

The greens of the hills and trees…

The browns of the cliffs…

The reds, yellows and purples of the flowers…

The Three Fs are what I hold on to when I’m in need…and what I celebrate with when I’m in joy!

May your Three Fs bring you the peace, comfort, support and strength you need in your life.

3 comments on “The Three Fs

  1. Mary Meyer
    September 5, 2012

    Sorry to hear about bill. Hope all is getting better, you have your prioties in great order – the 3 Fs. Nice you’ll be in my prayers!

  2. Mary Martin
    September 5, 2012

    May you live in joy in the midst of your trials.

  3. marlene barron
    September 7, 2012

    The 3 F’s are the color wheel primary colors. I am grateful to have you as a friend and am praying steadfastly for Bill and the family. Love you much!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 5, 2012 by in Family, Reflections, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , .
