Midwestern Mom's Musings

My view of the world through words & photos

The Warm Glow of Home

I love holiday lights.

I don’t care why the lights are present – for Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, or just because.  Holiday lights brighten a time when daylight is shorter and we are in such need of light.

Last week, my daughter and I left to run errands which took much longer than I had planned.  When we left the house, it was early afternoon, so I didn’t turn on the outside lights or the Christmas tree lights (yes, I keep the holiday decorations up as long as possible).  As we were driving home in the dark, I was thinking about how I hate coming home to a dark house.  It seems so cold and lonely when there are no lights on at night.

We turned the corner at the top of the hill that leads down to our house and I was greeted with a lit porch light and a bright Christmas tree.Our Christmas Tree  My son had thought to turn them on before he left to meet his friends.

I thought about his kind gesture earlier in the week while watching the fire I had built in our fireplace.  Fire on a Snow DayWe were snowed in like most of the Northern half of the country.  Outside the wind blew so hard the snow seems to be falling sideways.  The trees and bushes swayed in the frigid air barely visible in the light shining from our windows.

Light often signals safety and warmth.  Starlight can represent wonder.  Candlelight in a holy place symbolizes hope and faith.  Easter Vigil 2013Moonlight…romance.

Whatever light means to you, may it ever be present in your life whenever and wherever you need it.

One comment on “The Warm Glow of Home

  1. Elizabeth Petersen
    January 15, 2014

    Beautiful

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 10, 2014 by in Reflections, Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
