Midwestern Mom's Musings

My view of the world through words & photos

Migraines Suck

(Sorry for the blunt title, but that’s the nicest way I can put it.)

June is Migraine Awareness Month. If you have never experienced a migraine, I’m very happy for you. I wouldn’t wish a migraine on my worst enemy.

Those of us who do have migraines share many experiences – chief among them is having some people around us thinking that we’re weak and trying to get out of something because we have a headache.

The first time I experienced a migraine I was in my 30s. I thought I had a brain tumor or an aneurism.  Migraine ImageI was actually relieved to find out it was a migraine and I wasn’t going to die.  I’ve had some migraines, though, where death has sounded like a good option if it would make the pain go away.

Having migraines ruin our plans is frustrating to us.  (And we know it’s frustrating to those around us.) We don’t want to disappoint family or friends. We would much rather be at the party, event or gathering we planned on attended, as opposed to being in a quiet, dark room trying to recover (or in the bathroom puking our guts up).

I read a report that a new migraine drug is on its way to being approved.  This will be the first drug made specifically to treat migraines in about 50 years.  Most of the medications we’re prescribed are for other medical issues…sometimes they help, many times they do not.  The comments on the report from those who suffer from migraines were prolific.  They fell into three basic categories:  hopeful the drug will work for them, serious concerns about the side effects (which for some can be severe), and fear that drug companies and/or insurance companies will make availability limited or extremely expensive.

I could go on about migraines, but this other writer and fellow migraineur (yes, that is the name for those of us who suffer from migraines) wrote this “letter” that provides some clear insights:

An Open Letter to People Without Migraine

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 11, 2016 by in Health & Well-Being, Uncategorized and tagged , , .

Navigation

